Things that make me angry. Really angry.

Things that make me angry. Really angry.

I’ve decided to reveal the tip of the iceberg and share a few things that make me angry. Surely it can’t just be me that feels their blood boil at they very thought of these things…I hope.

False confidence- I don’t mind arrogance. I don’t mind confidence. I don’t mind someone being sure of them self…as long as they’ve earned it. If you’re a super-model and you think you’re beautiful? Fine. But if you look like the offspring of Shane MacGowan(of the Pogues) and Amy Winehouse, you need to shut the hell up.

People who don’t shut up- We all know at least one person like this. You give them a morsel of information, a tiny snippet of news and BAM! They use it as a platform to talk for hours. The most annoying thing about this, is that you can see it coming. Before you’ve finished your sentence, you know you’re stuck in a seemingly never-ending conversation with a tirade of terribly thought-out opinions and boring comments with zero substance.

“At the end of the day”- Possibly the worst expression that the English language has ever spawned. Used by people who can’t fathom your point-of-view and think that if they drop this cheeky one-liner into the conversation, you won’t notice they’ve side-stepped your opinion and are instead just reinforcing their own. The Jeremy Kyle Show is the perfect place for finding examples of people who feel the need to use this linguistic toxin. Here’s a video proving exactly how rife it is there: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tr36XDC6hmA

People who don’t understand the concept of ‘personal space’- Again. We all know someone like this. You drop in for a casual chat, a simple conversation and once again, BAM! They’re in your face. They’re so close, you can taste their breath. Scratch that. They’re so bloody close, you can see into their very soul. Back off.

The use of the word literally- Let me clarify this. I have no problem with the word literally. My problem is when it is just thrown into a sentence, without any regard for whether or not it belongs. “I literally just ate the biggest meal ever.” Oh right, I didn’t realise a large Big Mac Meal held the world record. “I literally want to kill myself.” Really? Well don’t let me stop you.

People who constantly have their shirt off- I understand you’re massive and you make Arnold Schwarzenegger look like Mr. Tickle. I understand you’ve probably put a disgusting amount of time in at the gym. But for the love of God, put your tits away. You look like a twat and you’re making us all look bad.

Allergies- I know that the vast majority of people who claim to have allergies, are completely genuine and can even be crippled by their affliction. However, so many people make up crappy allergies, just to be a little bit ‘different’. “I’m allergic to dairy products.” Oh right. It’s a bit weird that you’re fine eating that chocolate every day then. It’s also noteworthy that if you don’t like a food, that doesn’t mean you’re allergic to it!

Music snobbery- This is up there as one of the most ridiculous things I can think of. Ever heard anyone say; “I liked them before they were cool” or, “my favourite band? You’ve probably never heard of them.” Yeah. Those guys.

Attention seeking- What’s that? You’re suddenly a massive football fan and you magically support the same team as your big crush? Isn’t that a wonderful coincidence! You’d better flood my Facebook/Twitter with posts about how you “want the lads to do well tonight!” I’m sure that’ll make him love you(or just think you’re desperate, who knows?). But it’s not just girls. Guys can be just as bad. You may think that you’re coming off as vulnerable and in touch with your emotions. But if you post an essay about how you’re “always second best”, you just look like a soppy prick. Grow a pair.

Uninformed opinions- Whenever I tell anyone that I studied politics at university, they always have to drop in a terrible and mostly ill-informed, clichéd opinion. “You did politics? They’re all as bad as each other, they are.” Well, no. They’re not. I wouldn’t say that Tony Blair is on the same level as say, I dunno…Adolf Hitler?

Leave a comment