Things I just can’t do without.

I’m not an alcoholic and I’m no gambler, but they aren’t the only people with problems. Here’s my list of things that I’m hooked on, to the point of no return:

Football- Any interest in sports is a positive interest in my eyes, but it is possible for it to go a tiny bit too far. My moment of realisation? I found myself watching a live stream of a Scottish third division game on one screen, whilst watching the highlights of the weeks games in the Italian second division. Even the players parents wouldn’t be watching those games. Sobering stuff.

Breaking Bad- It’s ironic that this series about a man making crystal meth, has turned out to be my version of the drug. I just can’t get enough and on the plus side, it doesn’t give me terrible teeth. Sounds like a win, win situation for me.

Eating before bed- No matter how tired I am, no matter what time it is; I can’t do without a midnight snack. The snack in question? That can change: custard creams, sandwiches, pizza, you name it. As long as it’s food, it can be part of my mystical quest for sustenance before sleeping. I’m not eating because I’m hungry, I’m eating because I have to. I’m addicted.

Candy Crush- Just a casual game, they said. Just a way to pass some time. No. If anyone tries to get you into this game, refuse. Turn them down and don’t speak to them again; they are not your friend. I’ve never experienced a game that is so infuriating, yet so addicting to play. If you don’t want to end up losing a lot of hair and even more time, avoid this God-damn game.

Watching people fail- Now, I don’t mean your run-of-the-mill fail videos. The occasional cat falling off of a table or a building falling down just doesn’t do it for me. The fail videos I’m hooked on are a higher calibre, a finer product. My weakness is people attempting parkour/free-running and hitting the deck. Hard. The combination of arrogance and delusion that the stars of these videos possess, is the perfect catalyst for me to end up rolling around on the floor, laughing at just how hard they landed. And that is why I just can’t help coming back for more.

 

 

Leave a comment